*gasp* A Timely September Summary

This month felt a bit slow for me and I’m not sure I was as productive as I could have been.  It didn’t help that late in the month the arrival of Community Season 1 on DVD seriously impacted my reading by being hilarious (also, Halo: Reach).  I have two more upcoming reviews for September reads: David Weber’s Out of the Dark and Nicholas Kaufmann’s Chasing the Dragon; then it’s onward to October’s horror reads all of which have me excited more on that after the summary.

Rendezvous with Rama by Arthur C. Clarke
The Way of Kings by Brandon Sanderson
Damnation Alley by Roger Zelazny
Farlander by Col Buchanan
Percy Jackson and the Olympians
Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins
Tome of the Undergates by Sam Sykes
The Joe Pitt Casebooks (Half the Blood of Brooklyn, Every Last Drop, My Dead Body)

So October, the month of ghouls and ghosts.  Like last year I’ll be sticking to horror this month.  I’ll be starting things off making another go at Dan Simmon’s The Terror.  I made an attempt at reading it when it first came out but ended up putting it aside.  I love Hyperion and Summer of Night so I really don’t know why I stopped reading this one.  I plan on reading John Ajvide Lindquist’s newest novel: Handling the Undead which seems to involve zombies in Stockholm.  From indie press Bad Moon Books I picked up Lisa Morton’s Stoker winning The Lucid Dreaming and from Dragon Moon Press I snagged Stoker nominee Solomon’s Grave by Daniel Keohane.  Conrad Williams’ Unblemished remains one of my favorite horror novels so I’m going to take a shot at Decay Inevitable.  There are a whole lot more tentative reads on my Goodreads October shelf so if you’re looking for something creepy to read this October take a look there.

Leave a Reply

