Better Late Than Never: June Summary

Almost two weeks into July and I realized I never posted a June Summary (I also missed May…oops).  I’m sure no one but me cares but I find it somewhat useful to take a look at what I read over the previous month.  So in June we had:

Up Jim River by Michael Flynn

A continuation of the consistently great and awesomely epic series started in The January Dancer.  This is great character driven space opera that deserves a look from a broader audience.

Noir by Robert Coover

A dark, twisted tale of the titular genre that makes bizarre and engaging use of the second person narrative voice.

Triumff: Her Majesty’s Hero by Dan Abnett

A comic fantasy set in an alternative 2010 where magic has kept Elizabethan England alive and well.  Occasionally a bit too humorous for my tastes but something a bit different your adventure fantasy norm.

Old Man’s War by John Scalzi

Something of an homage to the great military sci-fi classics of yore stands tall on its own as one of the newer sci-fi classics of the aughts.

The Ghost Brigades by John Scalzi

The sequel to Old Man’s War is deeper and more intense then the first volume and explores the nature of identity an future leaning steeply towards post-human.

A bunch of my time in June was consumed by Brandon Sanderson’s Way of Kings, but I won’t say anything until the book is out for masses.  I have a couple of audiobook reviews just about ready to go since it has been a while since I’ve posted one of those so stay tuned for that.  If it wasn’t already obvious from the couple of reviews I’ve posted already this month I’m trying to work some more YA titles into my reading; particularly when I’m busy in other areas since I can fly through them pretty easily.  Next week I’m on vacation (yay!) and hopefully I’ll get some posts done and scheduled to go up while I’m away.  While I am away, however, I hope to work my way through a number of sequels to titles I’ve read in the past.  At the very least I’d like to makes some headway with The Grave Thief by Tom Lloyd, Canticle by Ken Scholes, and The Desert Spear by Peter Brett (with Heretics by S. Andrew Swann thrown in to shake things up a bit).  So stay tuned!

One thought on “Better Late Than Never: June Summary

Leave a Reply

