Red Faction: Armageddon Demo is out.

So, some of you might remember that I was rather a fan of the most recent Red Faction game, Red Faction: Guerilla.  It had its flaws but by and large it was a game that quite honestly never ceased to entertain me.  When it was announced that its sequel Red Fact: Armageddon would take place (at least partially) underground I was a tad skeptical.  How could a game designed around the destruction of property work in an underground environment?  My answer: it couldn’t.  So while I’ve by and large ignored the game since when I noted the demo on XBLA I decided to give it a shot.

I was pleasantly surprised.

Sure there are some things the demo does wrong (a cinematic chase scene that was fun to watch but would have been more fun to play) but by and large this is the same of whiz-bang explodely gameplay I loved from the original….with some added material.  Most notably is the addition of your ability to repair objects.  Accidentally destroy something? No problem, just hold down the left bumper and you’re good to go.  And the weapons.  Oh the weapons.  Liked remote mines in Guerrilla?  You’ll love   the mine gun.  Like singularity bombs?  You’ll really really like the Singularity Rifle.  Of course the best new weapon is the Magnet Gun.  Essentially you shoot two oppositely charged spikes that rapidly accelerate two objects towards one another.  That is precisely the amount of fun you think it might be.  On normal the game was pretty easy but still rather fun to play as things exploded all over the place.

I don’t know if it can live up to its predecessor but I’ll be damned if it won’t be fun.  Grab the demo over on XBLA  (or, presumably the newly operational PSN) and give it a shot.

Leave a Reply

