January Summary

I swear I frickin’ clicked publish!!!!!!  Argh!  This should have been up Wednesday.  Here it is now.

Read and reviewed in January:

The Fall by Guillermo Del Toro and Chuck Hogan

Dauntless by Jack Campbell

Stonewielder by Ian Cameron Esslemont

Pathfinder by Orson Scott Card

Gardens of the Moon by Steven Erikson

Cowboy Angels by Paul McAuley

Coming up towards the end of this week I should have a review up for Among Others by Jo Walton and next week I should have something to say on Bloodshot by Cherie Priest (I’m also listening to the audio version of Clementine). I don’t have anything big in the works at the moment and am pretty much grabbing books at whim.  I will tell you that I plan to grab Desert of Souls by Howard Andrew Jones as soon as I am physically (or digitally) able to ( Jones is on the editorial staff of Black Gate which deserves a post all its own) since a swords and sorcery tale of Arabian adventuring sounds just about right.  I’ve paused in my reading through Stealer of Souls (the first Elric anthology) but plan to get back to that soon.  I guess, given my excitement for Desert of Souls and frequent perusal of the massive Black Gate issue 14 I’m sort of on a sword’s and sorcery kick.  I definitely want more and I’ve been hearing the silent call of those Conan and Lankhmar anthologies sitting on my bookshelf.  I mean check out this gorgeous cover:  

That is how you frickin’ do “dude with sword” on a fantasy cover.

Leave a Reply

