July Summary

Almost forgot…again.  In July I read and reviewed the following books:

City of Ruin by Mark C. Newton

Legacies by Mercedes Lackey and Rosemary Edghill

The  Hunger Games and Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins

Backlash by Aaron Allston and Allies by Christie Golden (audio)

The Comet’s Curse by Dom Testa

Neverland by Douglas Clegg

Canticle by Ken Scholes

The Desert Spear by Peter V. Brett

Whew!  Not too shabby.  I’ve noted with some horror that number of books sitting on my floor, or on my nook, has grown a bit large.  So this month I plan on making a start on getting through a nice chunk of that pile.  I’ve started with Mission of Honor by David Weber and am loving it so far (I’m predisposed to liking this one I know, but I’ll be damned if Weber isn’t a master at big military SF).  After that I’m excited to check out The Book of Tongues by Gemma Files, another fine release from the folks of at Chizine and a book whose supernatural + wild west elements will scratch the itch inflamed by my reading of the Deadlands: Reloaded rule book.  I forgot completely that I had Walking the Tree by Kaaren Warren sitting on my nook since I grapped the epub from Book Depository sometime back.  I also plan on getting back to The Emerald Storm by Michael Sullivan, the latest in the Riyria Revelations, which I had an advance PDF for but I stopped reading because the nook isn’t terribly efficient at reading PDFs.  I managed to finally grab a copy of Col Buchanan’s Farlander via Book Depository which I ordered alongside Black Lung Captain by Chris Wooding and Tome of the Undergates by Sam Sykes.  Last but not least Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins will hit at the end of the month and I have a review in the works for The Way of Kings by Brandon Sanderson which doesn’t hit the shelves until the 31st.  I also have a number of audiobook reviews to get to including: A Mighty Fortress by David Weber, the Percy Jackson and the Olympians Series, and the Left Hand of God by Paul Hoffman so keep an eye out for those as well!

For those that don’t know you can follow me over on Goodreads where I’ve started to trying to keep my current reads updated with snippets that occur to me as I’m reading (thus far only partially successful).  Or you can follow me over on Twitter where you can find me being unproductive.

One thought on “July Summary

  1. I really need to get my hands on Mark C. Newton’s work. I’ve seen a lot of people read him but haven’t had a chance to do so yet. It looks like you attacked some great books in July. Very cool.

Leave a Reply

