A look at January

January was full of odds and ends. The tale end of my space opera reading and a hodge-podge of titles I’ve been meaning to get to. Two titles just missed the January cut and I’ll hopefully have them up this week before I head into my hard-boiled reading. People who have been sticking around likely noticed that I added the first line of each book to my reviews. I’ve long been a fan of Locus‘ “Opening Lines” section of their New Books feature. In fact a number of time it has spurred a purchase or interest where there previously was none.  So I’ve borrowed that for my reviews.  Below you’ll find a list of the reviews I’ve posted this month.  All books this time, but I have a growing backlog of audio, both music and fiction, that I’ve been putting off writing about.  Keep an eye out for some of that this month since I plowed through the audiobooks of Already Dead and No Dominion both of which should fit quite nicely under the hard-boiled theme.

Captain’s Fury by Jim Butcer
Redemption Ark by Alistair Reynolds
The God Engines by John Scalzi
Nyphron Rising by Michael J Sullivan
Arms-Commander by L. E. Modesitt Jr.
Gabriel Hunt at the Well of Eternity by Gabriel Hunt as told to James Reasoner

Leave a Reply

