2008 Bests: Film, Video Games & Wrap Up

Film

Ok I’m going to take a lot of flack for this but my favorite theatrical release wasn’t The Dark Knight.  It was Iron Man.  Oh, don’t get me wrong I think Dark Knight is an absolutely stunning film with some truly superb performances.  It certainly aims higher than Iron Man in terms of what it says about it’s main characters but at the same time I feel it over reaches in terms of what, plot wise at least, it tries to accomplish.  At the same time there is a certain amount of heavy handedness to the juxtaposition of Batman and the Joker that belittles its audience and keeps it from reaching the level of narrative it could have.

Iron Man was pitch perfect in terms of what it set out to accomplish and in how it handled it’s character.  It doesn’t any major message and seems content to be a edge of your seat adventure story.  Iron Man does more for me in capturing the excitement, wonder, and thrill of being a superhero than any move I have seen in recent years.  It reminds me of why I started reading comics all those years ago.

From another angle while DC struggles to suceed cinematically with heroes outside Batman, Marvel’s new studio division seemingly set up a world with a continuity and consistancy all of its own with little to no effort.  Future Marvel project down the pipeline reveal very specific plan of attack for their film universe.  DC still seem to have their collective heads up their asses.  Iron Man isn’t just a movie it’s the beginning of something else entirely and I am excited to see where it goes.

Video Games

No, I’m not going to go into a long narrative here.  I’ve spoken elsewhere on the blog over the last year.  I didn’t play a lot of games, or rather I didn’t play a lot of games to completion.  I didn’t finish GTA IV though I’d still like to, I’ve yet to finish The Witcher, though I’m closer and there weren’t many other titles that I was super-excited about this year that deserve mention.

Fallout 3 is the clear winner in my book.  It was the only game this year that really managed to sink its claws into me long enough to finish the game.  It is a wonderful piece of software, that while flawed, is one the best games I’ve played in a long time.  The only other possible contender would be Rock Band 2.  Not as much a full game as an incremental enhancement of the original at has, and continues, to offer countless hours of entertainment that doesn’t look to let up in the near future.

One Last Thing

io9. : First of all, Happy Birthday!  It’s hard to believe it’s only been a year but io9.com has become a daily site for me it’s almost hard to imagine my daily routine without it.  Congrats guys on a stellar year and I look forward to more sci-fi geekiness for you in the future.

Well that’s it for me.  It’s been an interesting year full of ups and downs.  Sci-fi still seems to be on the rise and I look forward to more new and awesome things year.

We now return to our irregularly scheduled programming.

2 thoughts on “2008 Bests: Film, Video Games & Wrap Up

  1. Actually I have to agree with you on Iron man being the better movie of the year. Batman was spectacular but relentless. Iron Man was just fun. But they’re kinda like apples and oranges. The tones were much much different. Plus… everyone knew batman was probably going to be good. Iron Man went above and beyond what the expectations were.

  2. Gotta concur- I just watched Iron Man again on Blu-Ray tonight. Tony Stark is the MAN! I love the hard pounding rock soundtrack, the unapologetic Tony Stark is amazing. There is nothing I don’t like- action and emotion without having beat you over the head with it. Batman The Dark Knight was good but I fear it is taking the new Batman series the same direction as the previous incarnation- 1st movie is great, then the second one needs to be bigger so they bring in major guest stars. Chapter three and beyond? Too many big name big ego guests and not enough Batman. What I missed in the Dark Knight was Batman! Film was about 45 minutes too long. There was no need for Eric Roberts, no need for the trip to Hong Kong and the stupid accountant thing was a waste of screen time. I just hope they can keep the third installment from suffering the kind of bloat that Batman and Robin did.
    Iron Man 2? I have faith in Marvel. Wolverine looks awesome- and I really hope we get to see more with the new Hulk in the planned Avengers.

Leave a Reply

