NY Times Essay on YA Fiction

I don’t remember any kind of “Young Adult” fiction from when I was a teen.  Looking at the YA market as it is today I wish there had been such a thing.  Not that I didn’t find stuff to read back then, I did, but there are so many interesting YA titles out now that (while I will most certainly enjoy them as an adult) I would have liked to experience in my younger days.

The essay is by Margo Rabb and appeared on July 20th and is well worth a read for those interested in reading and literature.  Sherman Alexie (whose Indian Killer is one my favorite novels) has perhaps the most interesting, and perhaps unsettling quote, of the piece:

“One person asked me, ‘Wouldn’t you have rather won the National Book Award for an adult, serious work?’ I thought I’d been condescended to as an Indian — that was nothing compared to the condescension for writing Y.A.”

Interesting stuff.  The essay can be found here, so head on over and take a look.

One thought on “NY Times Essay on YA Fiction

  1. If you wanna read two good ones. Definitely pick up the “Lightning Thief” series. It’s absolutely amazing. Oh and the Mysterious Benedict Society which is a pretty cool solve while you read a mystery book.

Leave a Reply

