Incoming!

I got a little busy at work, between filing a massive update to the NJAC (I hate being the newest hire!) and the NJLA Conference eating up my work day I have a bit of catching up to do.  However, I do have some reviews/commentary that are in the works.

I finished Alan Steele’s Galaxy Blues, which was an interesting sci-fi novel. I’m not sure I’d call it space opera, but it was certainly enjoyable.  A full review later.

I saw Macbeth at the Lyceum Theatre in New York on Tuesday with Patrick Stewart in the title role.  A great performance with absolutely fantastic production.  More on that later.

I managed to beat Crysis last weekend, I’ll have a more detailed commentary on that experience as well.  I’m still struggling to find the worth in Bioshock (no Flaming please!) and I *deep breath* find myself have to cheat to actually enjoy the experience.  I’ll stop myself before I start going into a detailed explanation of my problems with the game.  Being the two single-player first-person games I’ve been playing the most lately I will likely end up rolling into one big post….again.

Last but not least I plan on seeing Iron Man, if not tonight at least sometime this weekend, so expect a brief commentary.

I’ve got some bigger other plans for a bit later down the line.  Rick reviewed Worlds Collide by Apocalyptica  before I got a chance to so, rather than double up the reviews, I may post more on their overall discography, a feature I’d like to do some other bands as well (Avenged Sevenfold at the least).  I’ve also stayed mum about my impressions on the pending 4th Edition D&D heading out next month.  With the first adventure (and quick play rules) coming out late this month, expect some commentary in that direction as well.

Last but not least I gave up on the current reads that’ve been up for a while now.  Truthfully there is too much other good stuff out, or coming out, for me to go back and reread other things.  I’ll return to the Valente book at some point in the future, but my interests have been running almost purely towards the sci-fi as of late so I’ll probably stay with that kind of stuff for now.  As of today I’m about 50 pages into Ragamuffin by Tobias Buckell with Elizabeth Bear’s New Amsterdam and, hopefully, Gary Gibson’s Stealing Light down the line.

That’s it for now, keep an eye out for stuff sometime between tomorrow and Monday with more ahead.

Leave a Reply

