Netvibes, an alternative to iGoogle

I’m sure I’ve posted about this before, but I wanted to mention it again because I love it so damned much.  Netvibes, like the more well known igoogle, is a customizable homepage.  Using it’s various plugins you can load things like gmail (and other email clients), RSS feeds, and any other of productive (and not so productive) widgets into a web page.  Netvibes is probably my favorite webapp (discounting gmail) so far and find the abiltiy to but all my frequent stops on the web in one place not only damned handy as well as horribly addictive.   Did I mention it’s free?  iGoogle is a fine app, but I’ve found that I’ve enjoyed my experience with Netvibes more; though I can’t quite put my finger on why.  Anyway, give it a try and let me know what you think.

Some pics:

Netvibes Home

This is my homepage with feeds for email, wikipedia, google maps, and various time killing feeds.

Reader page

Clicking on any like to a story from an RSS feed opens up this window.  It lists all the stories on the left with a view of the post on the right.

5 thoughts on “Netvibes, an alternative to iGoogle

  1. thelastmccabe

    I’ve been thinking of switching to netvibes and this post settled it for me. That’s a really slick, clean looking homepage you’ve created-just the sort of thing I intend to do with mine. I’d say the biggest reason is that iGoogle’s lines do not match up properly and it’s generally ugly. I guess if you are willing to work long enough on it, people have made programs and gadgets to help you tweak it until it looks decent, but that just seems like a waste of time.

Leave a Reply

