Impressions: Crysis Demo

For those that don’t know I absolutely hated Far Cry.   It wasn’t really a bad game but, if you’ve heard of my experiences with the original Hitman, you know that stealthy action and my play style don’t go together (the original No One Lives Forever being perhaps the only exception).  That being said I felt that the Crysis demo was exceptional, and tons of fun to play.  There is a similar element of stealthiness required here but the addition of the power suit and its myriad of power makes managing combat (at least what was in the demo) much more entertaining.  The physics model is astounding; attacking a distant humvee from a machine gun turret ate through tree trunks causing the palms to crash to the ground caused a moment of visceral joy.  A fire fight in a North Korean outpost destroyed the building I was using for cover and had me seeking more solid object to hide behind and employing my suit’s cloak action to avoid heavy fire.   I won’t comment too much on graphics, my CPU lacks a dual-core and only has PC3200 ram so the game leans heavily on my Nvidia 8800 GTS (only the 320 mb model) which just isn’t enough to churn out the pixels at pretty resolutions.  The game worked, and at decent resolutions, and managed to look pretty good. 

From what I can tell the story seems to be rather interesting and the impressive AI and rendering technologies for the character models make immersion almost instantaneous.  Sound direction in the demo from the bark of weapon’s fire to the voice acting were top notch; the distant moans and cries of some thingout in the jungle with me certainly had me on edge.  Will I be buying the game anytime soon?  No.  See my previous post for some reasoning behind that.  I’d also like to put together a new PC sometime in the near future (I’m waiting on the verdict of AMD’s new Phenom line, due this month or early next year, before I decide exactly what I’m doing) so I can take better advantage of newer technology (a jump from single to quad core would rock, faster ram would be nice too, and maybe a sexier chassis to house everything).  Depending on my level of laziness at the time I’ll either build one myself or give Cyberpowerinc or iBuypower a try.

 The full game of Crsyis is out and seems to be getting solid reviews.  Both metacritic and gamerankings have average score in the low 90s.

One thought on “Impressions: Crysis Demo

Leave a Reply

