The Late Great Robert Jordan…

I’ve put off discussing Jordan’s death for a while now.   He is, in effect, the author that started this whole mess.  My first fantasy novel was Eye of the World and I have since devoured just about anything in the genre since.  Admittedly Jordan’s work was the center of a lot of joking amongst friends, especially during the later volumes,  but his work has always, and will always, retain a special place in my heart.  I have grown up alongside Rand al’Thor, Perrin Ayabara, and Matrim Cauthon and going back to Jordan’s work is like coming home again.  I have ceased trying to explain to others quite how I feel about the Wheel of Time series, it’s hard explaining how you view a writer, characters, and a world you’ve been around for more than a decade but I do know that Jordan being unable to complete his tale and that leaves a rather large vacancy in the world of fantasy at large and in my reading life.  So Mr. Rigney:  “May you shelter in the palm of the Creator’s hand, and may the last embrace of the mother welcome you home.”

For a far better articulation of what Jordan meant to us “hardcore” fantasy fans check out Fantasy Book Critic’s post.

Leave a Reply

