To all good things….Harry Potter **Minor Spoilers**

I’ll admit I’m a little sad at the end of the series.  I thought the book itself was good with a few things I didn’t like, mainly one instance of what I call “Robinson Crusoes’ Dog” (referring of course to the sudden appearence of a dog in the middle of Defoe’s book without any previous reference) in this case the harvesting of Basilisk teeth near the end of the book.  It seems silly to leave a basilisk corpse laying around for half a decade, but maybe it’s just me.  The book overall had a darker tone throughout the bulk and Rowling did an excellent job conveying a sense of desperation and loss throughout the majority.   She certainly left me craving some form of success to occur and when the tide begins to turn your own emotions soar along with the protagonists. While for mature readers the ending was probably glimpsed (at least in part) by most the “Battle of Hogwarts,” taking place throughout the last 150 pages or so, was some of the more exciting fantasy I’ve read so far.  In particularly Harry’s final confrontation with Voldemort.  I felt like Harry, throughout the course of 6 books, had simply stumbled upon the role of hero through no wish of his own.  He seemed to me a character that would have been happy to fly beneath the radar but, because to his birth and who he was, unable to do so.  It isn’t until the final stages of the last book (the decision to face Voldemort) that Harry completes his apotheosis into both adult and hero.  The Harry we see in that final confrontation is not the Harry we see on page 1.   I do have minor gripes about the expository scenes towards the end (I refer especially to the Snape flashback) I am hard pressed to think of another method through which those revalations could have occurred.  Overall it has been a fantastic ride and I am sorry to see it over and done with.

On a final note:  If you found the end epilogue not to your satisfaction I highly recommend you check out Rowlings brief interview over at MSNBC where she adds details to the rather hazy ending.  It can be found here.

Leave a Reply

